My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Fried Iddlis

Posted by Annita on April 7, 2006

Iddli can be used to make many delicious snacks.I remember how my amma used to make Dahi Vada with fried iddlis .Iddli Uppuma is also very delicious and easy to make.Another quick and easy snack with leftover iddlis.And this is my favorite too.Here’s my recipe :
Ingredients:-
Idllis – 5
Chopped Onion -1
Green Chillies -2
Grated coconut – 2 tbsp
Curry leaves – a few
Mustard seeds – 1/2 tsp
Chopped Coriander leaves – 1 tsp
Grated Veggies like carrots,beans,cabbage – 1/2 cup(Optional)
Salt – to taste
Oil – For frying

Ingredients
Ingredients
Method:-
Cut each iddli into four and deep fry it ,till golden brown.Drain it using a tissue paper and keep aside.Kids will love it just like that with tomato ketchup or chutney.This can be kept in air tight container for 2 to 3 days.This can also be served with little chilly powder sprinkled on it.

Deep Fried Iddlis
Deep Fried Iddlis

But i normally prepare a seperate mixture to add into the fried iddlis.And this is how i do:
In another pan,heat 1/2 tsp of oil.Add mustard seeds and allow it to splutter.Now add chopped onion,curry leaves,green chillies and salt.Saute till onion turns translucent.Add grated coconut and coriander leaves into it,stir well for few seconds.Switch it off and spread the mixture over fried iddlis .Serve hot.(Note :-Grated veggies can be added after the onion is sauteed well.But be sure to cook the veggies first .You can either cook it in a pan or microwave it for 3 mts.)

Fried Iddlis
A tasty snack
Posted by Annita

15 Responses to “Fried Iddlis”

  1. priya said

    looks yummy… isnt this a easy and a tasty snack.. the kids will love it.. my mom used to make this with leftover idlis and after frying she sprinkles idli molaga padi… thanx for taking me back to those memories.. i almost forgot that this snack exists

    Thanks Priya,Its definitely a quick snack..and tasty too,rt?

    Annita

  2. Tanuja said

    wow nice recipe thank u this is easy recipe and kids when they get bored eating always the same idli we can even make this as new recipes:)

    thank u

    Try it out Tanuja..and let me too know about it.

    Annita

  3. santhi said

    Heyyy, did not realize u would be back so soon to the blogging world!!!!!!!!!!! Glad to cu annita. Hope you are having a WONDERFUL time at home.
    I make upma with left over idlis. This is something similar.

    Thanks Santhi…I love Iddli Uppuma too
    Annita

  4. Hey,
    I do make this recipe.
    Kudos.Enjoy.
    Vineela

    Its my favorite snack,Vineela

    Annita

  5. shilpa said

    Hi Annita, I had this once 3-4 years back at one of my friend's place. They just served fried idli with tomato ketchup and asked me to guess what it is. But I could not guess!!!. The taste was superb. Thanks for the recipe.

    Even i love it..Actually I like it better than plain iddlis

    Annita

  6. I have made idly upma, but never tried this so far!! Will give a try soon:)

    Hey,I’ve been a regular visitor on ur site.Glad to see ur comments..
    Annita

  7. RP said

    Wow! Good to see you posting from God’s own country. Idli fry looks yummy. I always have leftover idlis. This is a wonderful makeover recipe.

    Thats my favorite,RP..Its really tasty too
    Annita

  8. Lera said

    Annita, Fried Idlis are looking yummmm ,I would love to try this one, next time I make idlis.Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe:)

    Try it our,Lera..You;ll definitely love it
    Annita

  9. priya said

    Kani kaanum neram kamala netrante niramekum manja thukil , kanaga kingini valakal mothiram aninju kananam bhagavane – Vishu Ashamsagal to u and ur family

    Thank you very much..Happy Vishu to u too
    Annita

  10. Hai Annita,
    Happy Vishu to both of u ,ur son and ur family.
    Vineela

    Same to u,Vineela.And thanks for ur wishes
    Annita

  11. sarah said

    Vishu ashamsakal Annita..
    Sarah

    Vishu Aashamsakal to u and ur family,Sarah..Thanks for ur wishes too
    Annita

  12. Hi Annita,
    Happy vishu to you and your family:)

    Thanks Priya..And my wishes to u and ur family too
    Annita

  13. Mythi said

    Hi,
    I’v tried this snack and it turned out good. Have prepared twice.
    The first time as same as ur recipe. The second time with a different one with the difference in the masala.I’v sauted chopped onion,tomato(little),masala powder,salt and little turmeric in oil(sprinkle some water if needed) and then added the fried idlis to it. It was good.
    Thanx for the recipe.

  14. Google TV appears to be genuinely wonderful. I’m not sure if I wish to pick up a television with it built-in or a standalone box.

  15. Have you ever considered adding more videos for your blog page posts to preserve the readers more entertained? I imply I just read through the entire write-up of yours and it was fairly very good but since I’m more of a visual learner,I found that to be more helpful effectively let me know how it turns out! I really like what you guys are always up as well. This kind of clever function and reporting! Preserve up the fantastic works guys I’ve added you guys to my blogroll. That is a wonderful post thanks for sharing this informative information.. I will go to your blog regularly for some latest post.

Leave a Reply

 
