My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Green Bean Casserole

Posted by Annita on March 23, 2006

Green bean Casserole – Lil’ Milan’s new favorite .
I’ve noticed that his food habits are changing drastically now adays.He loves to take lots of fruits and veggies.May be he is attracted by its color or texture..Who knows what it is..and i’m not going to question it ..Once I saw him taking a fresh green bean out of my grocery shopping bag,and eating it.I didn’t expect him to take the whole thing, but he really enjoyed each and every bite of it without even showing any hesitation.It was funny to watch him eating it,just lika rabbit.. :). Also his teachers(at daycare) have been telling us about his desire for baked beans.
And thats how i started cooking this American dish and to my surprise,he just loved it!!!!Now i make this quite often..Its really simple ,and if you are using all canned items it’ll hardly take 5 mts.But i don’t like using canned items,especially if cooking for my kid.
Ingredients:-
One handful of green beans cut into pieces of 1 inch length or One can of green beans
Shredded mozarilla cheese -1/2 cup
Butter -1 tbsp
Flour – 1 tbsp
Grated Onion – 2tbsp
Pepper – a pinch
Sugar -1/2 tsp
Sour Cream -1/2 cup
Crushed corn flakes tossed with 1 tsp of butter -1/2 cup(you can also use crushed Ritz biscuits instead of corn flakes)
Salt – as needed

Ingredients
Beans & Onion
Method:-
Cook green beans in 1 cup of water adding salt.Drain it and reserve.

Drained beans
Green Beans-Cooked and Drained

Melt butter in a sauce pan and saute onions for 1 minute.Stir in salt,flour,pepper and sugar,blend well for few seconds.Add sour cream into it and cook for 1 more minute.Now the sauce is ready.(Campbells mushroom soup/Celery soup can be substituted for this prepared sauce)

Prepared Sauce
Sauce for Casserole

Spread beans in a buttered casserole or baking dish .Sprinkle half of the shredded cheese over the beans and then pour sauce over it.Again add rest of the cheese and crushed corn flakes.

Ready to bake
Green Bean Casserole-Ready to bake

Bake for about 25 minutes at 350 F.

Milan's Lunch
Happy Eating!!

Green Bean Casserole with Strawberries & Pineapple Chunks- a satisfying lunch for my toddler.

Posted by Annita

15 Responses to “Green Bean Casserole”

  1. Annita, one more yummy recipe with sour cream ;) I am definely going to try this :)

    You are gonna like it ,Karthi..

    Annita

  2. Hey Annita,
    Ita a New recipe dear.
    Let me try !!!
    Vineela

    Try it and let me know abt it ,Vineela..

    Annita

  3. Sonali said

    Completely new style of Green Beans…looking good.

    Thanks sonali

    Annita 

  4. shilpa said

    Annita, It looks great. I will try this soon.
    BTW, I tried Sharja shake and it was great. Thanks for the recipe.

    I’m happy to hear that ur Sharjah shake came out well..Do try this too Shilpa

    Annita 

  5. sarah said

    i love sour cream…the recipe looks good and easy.. will try soon.thnks for the recipe

    Do try it out sarah.U’ll like it..

    Annita 

  6. RP said

    Annita, I have heard a lot about green bean casserole from American friends & I have always wanted to make it. But whenever I search for a recipe, they all call for “can of this” and “can of that”………. I don’t like using canned products either. I like the way you did it from scratch. I am saving this recipe. I think americans add fried french onion on top. Thanks for sharing.

    Yeah..I’ve seen  some recipes with fried french onions..I think you can add anything crunchy into it..

    Annita

  7. RP said

    Oh forgot to add. Did you check out the roses I made? Thanks again for such a wonderful idea Annita.

    I just checked RP..Yesterday I think u missed ur URL in the comment..And somehow i didn’t have ur URL..

    Now i’ve added you to my blogroll…And ur roses are really beautiful…

    Annita 

  8. santhi said

    Never made casserole and the last time I ate it was when my boss made it for an office party. Sahithi, my 3 year old loves all kinds of veggies too.. will have to try for her..

    Do try making casseroles Santhi..Its very easy..and u can save a lot of time too..

    Annita 

  9. Lera said

    Annita, The “Green Bean Casserole” is yummy and nutritious…I am sure your toddler gets all the right nutrients…happy Cooking!

    Thanks Lera..I love casseroles..Its simple to cook also..saves lot of time,rt?

    Annita 

  10. Lakshmi said

    i heard of casserole..never tried any. will try.

    Do try it out Lakshmi,U’ll like it..

    Annita 

  11. Saji said

    Hi Annita,

    U hav done a gr8 job by hosting this site. Its so yummy…tnx.
    I was searching for Jackfruit dishes and found this site…I practically checked all the links before leaving this site.

    All were so good and i loved it…cuz they all are my favourites.

    All the best for u,

    saji

  12. Rg said

    I’ve tried green bean casserole but with canned beans and canned mushroom soup and readily available crunchy french onion fried…I was the only one who ate that dish neither did my husband nor my toddler like that….It’s been a while..so may be I’ll try it out again with your recipe and see if atleast my toddler likes…he is a very picky eater…he doesn’t like any fruits…doesn’t even like stuffs like icecreams…can u imagine such a kid?…. hmmm….Anyways, Annita keep posting such yummy recipes….Thanks for sharing it here…

  13. Maya said

    Hi Anita,My sour cream is not as liquidy as this.Am i missing something.I tried your cream cake and everybody loved it.Thanks

  14. Maya said

    Trying it now whatever way.Will let you know how it pops out:) I used pretzel crisps instead of corn flakes as I ran out of it

    • jasiranas said

      i would like to start a food blog. so i search ” how to make a food blog” in google. but i cannot understand. please help me to start food blog. i am very intrested…………. so pls help me. On Sat, Nov 10, 2012 at 6:24 AM, My Treasure…My Pleasure wrote:

      > ** > Maya commented: “Trying it now whatever way.Will let you know how it > pops out:) I used pretzel crisps instead of corn flakes as I ran out of it” >

Leave a Reply

 
