My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Beetroot Chutney

Posted by Annita on March 22, 2006

This Beetroot Chutney is again from Vanitha and it tasted good with rice.

Beetroot Chutney
Beetroot Chutney

The recipe is as follows:-

Ingredients:-

Beetroot Grated – 1
Finely chopped ginger- 1 tsp
Finely chopped garlic – 1 tsp
Chopped Green chillies -2(according to the spice level)
Chopped Pearl Onions – 3
Salt – as needed
Mustard Seeds – a few
Curry leaves – a few

Method:-

Mix together beetroot,ginger,garlic,green chillies,chopped onions and salt with hand.Cook it well in steam till aroma comes out.Now heat oil in a pan,and add mustard seeds into it.When it pops,add curry leaves and cooked beetroot.Mix together and serve.

Posted by Annita

4 Responses to “Beetroot Chutney”

  1. Shakta said

    Hey Annita,

    I love your beetroot chutney post. I never liked beetroot earlier but I am going to try this one.

    Regards,
    Shakta

  2. sunita said

    Hi Amita,
    We had an orderly who was from Kerala. he used to prepare the most delicious Beetroot Achar for us.In those days my interest in cooking was a big Zero. I didnt try to get the recipe from him. Idont think he would still be there because I am talking about 28-29years ago.now that I have all the time and the internet is such a wonderful tool I try to find the things we loved and lost.
    The Achar was made by cutting the Beetroots into really fine pieces, grating wouldnt do. The size approximately 1/2 cmX1/2cmX 2-3mm. Cutting was the most tedious part of the whole recipe.The masala definitely contained Rai (smaller mustard seeds) and Vinegar.Im not sure about the other spices apart from salt ofcourse. The taste was sweet/sour not very sour.
    Do you think I could get the recipe from somewhere?
    Thanks
    Sunita

  3. sunita said

    Hi Annita,
    We had an orderly who was from Kerala. he used to prepare the most delicious Beetroot Achar for us.In those days my interest in cooking was a big Zero. I didnt try to get the recipe from him. Idont think he would still be there because I am talking about 28-29years ago.now that I have all the time and the internet is such a wonderful tool I try to find the things we loved and lost.
    The Achar was made by cutting the Beetroots into really fine pieces, grating wouldnt do. The size approximately 1/2 cmX1/2cmX 2-3mm. Cutting was the most tedious part of the whole recipe.The masala definitely contained Rai (smaller mustard seeds) and Vinegar.Im not sure about the other spices apart from salt ofcourse. The taste was sweet/sour not very sour.
    Do you think I could get the recipe from somewhere?
    Thanks
    Sunita

    I haven’t tasted such an achar yet,Sunita…but your description itself make my mouth watering…If i could find a recipe of this ,i’ll surely let you know…But for now…i’m sorry…i dont know abt it…
    Annita

  4. best, food, cookbook…

    […]Beetroot Chutney « My Treasure…My Pleasure[…]…

Leave a Reply

 
