My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Mango Jam

Posted by Annita on March 20, 2006

Now the mango season has arrived and mangoes can be seen in all grocery stores here in U.S .And I got these mangoes on my Saturday grocery shopping from JungleJims International Market.It was so ripe and juicy,that it could not be kept for more than 2 days.So after downing some,I decided to make jam with it.I’ve never tried making jam in my entire life and so was very excited about it.After a long search in google,I got this recipe with no preservatives(I didn’t have any preservatives with me..and i dont know where can I find it in U.S.Can anyone help me with this..pls?) from Goacom.com.And here it is…
Ingredients:-
8 cups mango pulp (Cook the mangoes in some water..Blend it till smooth,when it is cooled )
5 cups sugar
15 cloves
7 or 8 cinnamon sticks of about 2-3 inch
1 tablespoon ginger juice
Juice of 3 sour limes
Method:-
Mix the sugar and pulp in a thick bottomed pan and place on medium heat. Stir constantly till the mixture leaves the sides of the pan. Then add the spices (cloves and cinnamon), ginger and lime juice.You do not have to break the spices into pieces.So you can easily remove it from the jam when needed.Cool and bottle the jam.

Mango Jam with Bread
Mango Jam & Organic Wheat Bread

What I’ve found interesting about this jam is,it keeps well for a very long time without a preservative and taste does not alter.

Posted by Annita

3 Responses to “Mango Jam”

  1. cindy said

    Hello Annita,

    When you wrote: keeps a very long time … how long is long? 3 months? or more?

    Thanks
    Cindy

    Atleast upto 5 months,Cindy.Mine got over by that time.

    Annita 

  2. MARIA said

    DEAR ANNITA,

    I’M FROM CHENNAI – PLEASE TELL ME WHAT KIND OF BANANAS CAN I USE INSTEAD OF THE ‘PALAYANKODAN’ BANANA THAT ONE MAY GET IN KERALA- DOES THE COLOUR VARY USING ANY OTHER BANANAS OR SHOULD I USE ANY FOOD COLORING.

    THANKS
    MARIA

  3. If your wallpaper is in the first group, the wall coverings that just peel right off,
    enjoy the rest of your day. If you want to completely remove black mold from your
    home and make it safe for your family, there are some steps that you need to take.
    Mold can be cleanup up if done properly, but if done improperly
    you can make the damage worse.

Leave a Reply

 
