My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Chicken Varattiyathu

Posted by Annita on August 6, 2007

As you might know i was a little busy with my in-laws.They went back last week pushing me back to my old routine.Now i’m forced to do the chores all by myself.So i’m here,lazier and heavier.And many thanks to all of you for visiting my blog and keeping it alive,and also for your kind emails and messages.I’m really glad to be back.

This is our new chicken favorite which posess a typical Malayali flavour,the recipe is from my sister,infact its from her mother-in-law.Chicken is cooked and sauteed in plenty of onions and spices until a reddish brown color is attained and it tastes great when coconut oil is used.

Chicken Varattiyathu
Kerala Porotta with Chicken Varattiyathu

The recipe follows …

Ingredients:-

Bonned chicken – 1/2 kg
Onion sliced thin – 4 big
Ginger-Garlic paste – 3 tsp
Curry leaves – 2 sprigs
Red Chilly powder – 3 tsp
Coriander powder – 5 tsp
Turmeric powder – 1 tsp
Garam masala powder – 1 tsp
Salt – to taste
Coconut oil – as needed

Method:-

Marinate the chicken with 1 tsp ginger garlic paste and salt for 1 hr preferably in a refrigerator.Cook it slowly without adding much water(add 1 or 2 tsp of water just enough to prevent it from sticking),and keep it aside.

Heat oil in a pan ,add onions,curry leaves,salt and rest of ginger-garlic paste and saute it for around 10 minutes until onion turns very translucent and soft.

Chicken Varattiyathu

Add all the spices and fry it for 3 more minutes.Now add cooked chicken and fry it well till the chicken is well coated with the masala.Or else you can add the uncooked chicken directly into the sauteed masala and allow it to cook in the masala itself.

Chicken Varattiyathu

When a reddish brown color is attained,switch off the stove and allow it to stand for half an hour.Once cooled,the dish will turn into a dark brown appealing color.Serve with rice/roti.

Chicken Varattiyathu

This chicken dish when made into a gravy tastes great with puttu/Idiappam as well.Just add enough water or coconut milk and heat it for sometime.

65 Responses to “Chicken Varattiyathu”

  1. This looks delicious!

  2. jisha said

    hey..

    ee padam kandu kothichchirikkan thudangiyittu ethra nalayenno..thanks for the recipie..kandittu kothiyakunnu..

  3. meeso said

    I like the pictures throughout the cooking process…It looks so yummy!

  4. Kinju said

    hey,

    It looks so yummy!, but whenever i tried cooking of your recipe, the taste will be good but the dish will not match the picture of yours.

    Thanks for the recipie….

  5. jaanu said

    whats the secret
    it looks fantastic
    planning to make it 2day with aloo parotha
    fingers crossed
    hope i get the colour like yours

  6. roopa said

    Oh my god, this looks so tasty :) cant wait to reach my hands on it :) by the way one question, when u switch off the stove and leave it for half and hour, does it really turn to that nice color? havent tried it or heard that, will try it , what makes it turn red? wow i liked the idea, but dont know if i wud be able to wait (i think that includes my husband too ;) ) to wait that long :)

  7. Bindu said

    Welcome back Annita! Good to hear from you after a while. Am sure you had a great time with your parent-inlaws visiting. Lucky You!!! Hope your family is doing great too.

  8. Bharathy said

    Good to see you back.I am a silent,regular reader of your blog.Your place is the ultimate stop for reference to me :)..Love your Kerala recipes.Love those works on cakes.Simply Superb.Keep the Great work,Anita :)

  9. Cynthia said

    It is great to have you back Annita and what a treat you have for us.

  10. Nags said

    this is almost similar to the stir fry chicken that i sometimes make. nice pic :) looks delicious, and its almost lunchtime so i am really hungry too :)

  11. Ash said

    Dear master chef, in ur orange chick recipe, i tried looking for orange marmalade in the american store but couldnt find it. Does it have any other name? ur cakes look great. Appreciate u for having infinite patience.

  12. Shella said

    I have just returned from Kerala after a week’s leave, n I cannot tell you how nostalgic i feel already. I have always loved the place, n unfortunately I got to visit it after almost 10 looooooong years.

    You recipe looks yummy. My husband is a N. Indian, n is not very quick to adapting to food habbits. We are planning a 2 week vacation nxt yr to Kerala, n honestly I am very worried about how he will eat the food there, s it surely has a distinct taste. I have thought of having him adapt a little bit at least to the taste of the food there. Any suggestions, ideas, recipes would be most welcome.

    I am firstly going to try this recipe on his. It looks absolutely sumptous

  13. Annie said

    Dear Anita,

    Your recipe of chicken varatiyathu was very tasty, I prepared it yesterday. Every body at home liked it. please contribute more recipes on chicken spegetti, chicken fried rice etc. Pls advise how to make it to my e-mail: angel_sleeba@hotmail.com. Iam waiting for your instructions.

    Annie

  14. jaya pai said

    hi annita,, i am hungry after looking at the chicken dish,, i am going to try this one for sure,, looks delcious,, yummy yummy,,, thanks for sharing,, bye for now

  15. Jeena said

    Hi there you have a great blog. I love this recipe it looks wonderfuls nice pics too :)

  16. Jeena said

    Feel free to visit my blog too :)

    Click here for jeenas food recipe blog :-)

  17. Rg said

    Adipoli items aanello…..is that parotta along with chicken? Yum! wonderful combination. This(chicken varatiyadhu) is exactly how my mom makes. I’m gonna try it out today or tommorrow. Thanks for sharing this recipe Annita.

  18. Rg said

    I tried it out y/day for dinner. It was very good. Thanks again for this recipe.

  19. KARTHIKA NAIR said

    IT TASTED GOOD, BUT THE COLOR REMAINS THE SAME EVEN AFTER COOLING .. WHY IS IT SO ?

    Did you fry it very well?you have to fry it until it turns into a reddish brown color ..
    Or it may be bcoz of the chilly powder & coriander powder you use..
    I use home made masala powders only.
    Annita

  20. Albi said

    Hi Annita,
    I was anxious to taste it seeing ur post.Today I tried it &was very tasty and was perfect in appearance.Thanx for the recipe,everyone liked it.

    Very happy to know that you got it right,Albi
    Annita

  21. Ayrin said

    Hey annitha i tried this out it came out really good!! this recipe was worth all the wait!! thank you… the chicken that i made also didn’t turn out as dark brown as yours but it did taste very good

    i donno why it didnt get that brown color..may be bcoz of the masala powders i use..
    Annita

  22. shahanas said

    hi anitha
    i tried this one yesterday itz very good.but did not get brown colour.

    I think its bcoz of the masalas i use,Shahnas..
    I use home made masala powders from Kerala…
    Annita

  23. Leena said

    hello. i tried out this recipe yesterday and i did get the rich brown color. maybe it depends on the type of chilli powder or coriander powder that we use. and it was good. my husband gave a thumbs up sign to it. thanks for posting it. since this was the first time i am trying out a tried and tested recipe from this blog, i will continue to try out all the others as well.

    Yeah..I too think its bcoz of the chilly powder & coriander powder only..
    I use home made masalas which is sent to me by my mother-in-law..Lucky me…:))
    Annita

  24. wow! It looks yammy yammy…!!! welldone, thanks Annita :)

    Thank you Dhanya..
    Annita

  25. Viji said

    Hey woww such a tempting chicken varatiyadu!!!:-) I love anything with chciken.And U know something,I have something waiting for u in my blog.

    Thanks a lot Viji..i’m so grateful…:))
    Annita

  26. jisha said

    hey annita..

    nowadays my curries are getting sweet taste(if i am using india store red onions)do u have any idea why?which onion u are using?

    Jisha,I think its bcoz of the onions only.Try buying onions from a different grocery store.
    I normally use yellow onions available in our local grocery stores..But for Kerala dishes I prefer red onions only..

    Annita

  27. jisha said

    thanks annita…in this u used red onions right?

  28. sana said

    Hi Annita,

    I made this today. It was good. Thanks for the simple and tasty recipe.

  29. Seena said

    Hi Annita,

    I really like yr website. I have a question for you. What do you mean by bonned chicken ? Bone in or bone out?

    I meant chicken with bones…
    Annita

  30. Divya said

    Hi Anitha,

    Great recipes….I love Chicken….will try it out…
    ur picture looks yummy…

    Check out my blog

  31. sam said

    hi Annita,

    the recipe was simply woooooooow.
    anyone who means to try it,do so soon. i made it with chkn drumsticks alone, yet the result was awesome:)

    i made this for dinner today, thinking that the remaining can be kept in the fridge for tomorrow dinner! but alas! all finished including the gravy. thanks a ton dear and yeah i will be visiting often;)

  32. jisha said

    hey annita i made this for dinner..i should say thanks to u..it came out very good

    Its a recipe which can never fail…It always turns out good for me,Jisha
    Annita

  33. priya said

    Hi Anitha,

    i was a silent visitor of ur sie.but while seeing this chicken receipe i can’t even wait to reply u..it looks so tasty and lovely..i do like ur receipes,and i forwared ur site address to lot os my friends….i gonna make this dish…i love this receipe….

    Thank you Priya,Pls let me know how it turned out for u..
    Annita

  34. Malayalee in NJ said

    mmm mmmm delicious!!! thanks Annita

    Thank you..:))
    Annita

  35. Smitha said

    Annose,

    Great recipes and wonderful collection. Made this yesterday .came out very well.even the colour.thanks a lot for the detailed recipes. U have done a wonderful job.keep it up.

    Smitha

    Thanks a lot Ambili.Try out more recipes and let me know ur comments,ok..:))
    Annita

  36. Mudd said

    This recipe is for 1/2 kg of chicken. Does that mean that when you make 1 kg chicken, double the quantity of ingredients are to be used? I always get stumped on this issue.

  37. Mudd said

    My husband thoroughly enjoyed this dish – he said it was excellent! In fact, he’s asked me to prepare it when we invite our friends over to dinner next time.

  38. seby said

    hey anita im 15 years old and ive been cooking for the past 1-2 years, i can cook chiili chiken, chiken tikka massla anything with chiken and i no a lot of vegtable curries too. im a south indian from kerala (beutifull place)!!

    i tried ur recipie. when my mom goes to work and comes back at night i ussually have some curries for the whole family ( we are 5 total)
    and your recipie turned out just the taste i wanted …you no the chilli and salt…i dont know how to describe it but thanks any way.

  39. Priya said

    Hi Anita! Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I tried it and it was delicious!! When I need a new recipe, your’s is my “go to” blog. It is one of my absolute favorites! You are an inspiration. :)

  40. Pramod said

    I tried this today and the color came almost similar :))
    but it was spicy..I think next time, I should reduce the chilli amount. (not sure if it is because of the brand that I am using) Thank you very much for the recipe…

  41. aishani said

    hi Anita,
    thanxs 4 this excellent recipe,it was yummy :)
    can u suggest me the measurement for 1 & 1/2 kgs of chicken. i never succeed when i prepare in large quantites. am planning 2 prepare this for our nxt family gettogether .

  42. Tony Stanley said

    Hi Anita Chechi !

    Thanks a ton for taking efforts to publish recipes from Kerala !

    I have been searching for the perfect Kerala Chicken curry recipe ! I think I have found it atlast !

    I am student and living in a self catering accomodation ! In a hurry I did not carry enough recipes from my mom when I left India !

    Now I think I dont have to worry at all !!!

    Thanks again !

  43. Amita said

    Hi Annita – I never leave feedback about recipes, because half the time they don’t turn out good or because the person does not share the complete recipe. This chicken was a killer. I tried it last week and it was awesome. My hubby asked me where I got this recipe from and I told him, a friend from the internet shared. He asked me, if I can ask this friend to move closer to us, so I can learn more. Anyways, the fact is I am 3 months pregnant and can hardly stand any food, but I craved for this chicken when I read the recipe. LOVE IT !. Thank you so much for sharing.

    One question, if I need to make this for a bigger crowd, how do I make the estimate. I am having a party for my son’s birthday this weekend and would love to make this to impress my friends. We will be having about 20 people and wondering how do I make it. Once again, thank you.

    -Amita.

  44. ajoji said

    Hi Annita, I have tried this dish with my ‘own’ recipes many times. But it did not work out..if I am adding chicken after preaparing masala,how much water I should add to cook the chicken?

  45. Fathima said

    I made this recipe for the 4th time yesterday. It is a big hit in my family! Thankyou :-)

    I’m very happy to hear about this,Fathima.
    And many thanks for letting me know.
    Annita

  46. roo said

    yummy… this wd add to my next wk end lunch menu… nice blog.

    http://www.rooathome.blogspot.com

  47. divya said

    Hi,

    i prepared this dish..It was so yummy and i got lots of compliments..I’m tryig out all ur dishes….
    thanks..keep posting

  48. sonia philip said

    i tried it and it came out well. tnkz

  49. sanjay said

    adipolly………..

  50. Priya Manu said

    looks yummy………. gonna try this today…..

  51. chris said

    Hmm…finger licking….tastes like our nadan preparations….all your recipies are welcome….
    i tried your xmas cake(i am a plum cake fan).first cake in my life..came out really well..thank you so much

  52. Ann Sebastian said

    Hi Anitha,

    I tried this for yday’s dinner with rabbit 1/2 kg and it came out really well.My husband has asked me to make it again with chicken. I had reduced chilli and coriander powder by 1tsp to make it less spicy..
    I am refering to your site and learning many authentic mallu dishes..Thanks a ton for posting such wonderful recipes!!!

  53. Ria said

    wow gr8 recipe i tried jst now …..good..superb

  54. Mini said

    luks very nice

  55. Sherin said

    Will sure try & let you know. Thanks dear.

  56. Sherin said

    Nice recipe.

  57. Thak u Annita..I tried this..but slightly a diff way..It came out excellent..thanks a lot.

  58. chk ths wen u find time… http://mywonderfulworldofcooking.blogspot.com/2011/03/it-has-been-while-that-i-tried.html

  59. Ami said

    Nice recipe thanks. You are lucky that your mom in law helps with the chores while mine only knows to boss over me and not lift a finger feigning sickness

  60. smitha said

    to attain the colour fry well in coconut oil…the recipe was excellent and my hubby loved it

  61. Anns Rajesh said

    We enjoyed the hartal day with your recipes. It was perfect combination both with rice and chappathi.Thank You!!!

  62. dhanya said

    I was looking for an interesting recipe and I found this.It looked absolutely tempting.So I tried this today,and it was really tasty!My husband loved it:)thanks a lot for this recipes.hope u post many moire delecious recipes lyk these.

  63. Nobin Jacob said

    thaks for posting this receipe

  64. Vidya said

    Hi,
    I tried this for a dinner get together. It came out so well. Everyone appreciated it so much. You are making me popular!
    Thank you so much.
    Sad that you stopped blogging. :(

  65. Jerry said

    Very nice post. I definitely love this website. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

