My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Pasta in Spinach-Garlic Sauce

Posted by Annita on February 12, 2007

Here’s a spinach flavoured pasta recipe ,its’s my son’s new favorite.

Pasta In spinach-Garlic sauce

Pasta In spinach-Garlic sauce

Ingredients:-

Pasta cooked according to package directions – 2 cups

For The Sauce :-

Spinach – half of a bunch
Garlic chopped -1 tsp
All purpose flour – 1/2 cup
Whole Milk – 1 cup
Cheddar Cheese – 2 tsp
Dried Parsley – 1 tsp
Pepper powder – to taste
Salt – to taste
Olive Oil – as needed

Method:-

Cook spinach in water,drain and puree it.Heat olive oil in a pan and saute garlic for few seconds.Now add all purpose flour and roast it for a while.Stir in milk and pepper powder and heat until the sauce gets thick.Now add spinach puree ,salt and parsley and simmer for few more minutes stirring occasionally.Finally add the cheese and mix well.Switch off the stove.The sauce is now ready.

Pour the sauce over cooked pasta.Mix well,sprinkle more cheese and serve hot.

Check out these too :

Elbow Macaroni in Eggplant-Spinach Sauce

Pasta with Lentils

Veggie Pasta

Greek Pasta

Pasta with chicken & roasted Garlic

Pumpkin sauce Penne

Basil Pesto Pasta

Pasta in chilli,Bell pepper and peanut sauce

Pasta in tomato Cumin Sauce

Penne Upma

Pasta with Garlic Greens,Artichokes and OlivesĀ 

13 Responses to “Pasta in Spinach-Garlic Sauce”

  1. RP said

    Pureeing the spinach to get all that green goodness is a fabulous idea. I add chopped spinach to the pasta at times, but never thought about pureeing it. You are one smart mommy!

    Thanks dear..
    Annita

  2. Helen said

    Hi,
    How do you serve Indian food at home? What other things should be served on the table if I want chicken thoran as main dish? soup? raita? salad? rice? naan? Thanks for your time!!!

    chicken thoran is mainly served with rice and some kind of gravy based dishes or yogurt. You can serve soup or naan along with it,if you wish..
    Thanks Helen
    Annita

  3. New one with pasta! Annita I started experiments with pasta,spaghetti and all..Already tried RP’s recipes..This is a new idea..I can try this also..Thank You …

    Thanks KF..Let me know how it turned out for u..
    Annita

  4. Coffee said

    Thats a brilliant way to make pasta!!!!! Love the green colour!!!! Wonderful pic Anita. :)

    Thanks dear..
    Annita

  5. Mythreyee said

    thanks for the recipe. My daughter loves pasta and let me try this one. I want her to somehow take spinach and I think this is one best way I can give her.

    pls let me know ,whether ur daughter liked it or not.
    Annita

  6. akshata said

    Thanks a lot annita
    for this recipe , my son loves pasta and this is a sure way of getting him eat his spinach too.
    annita can you tell me how i have to write on to the photos we upload on the site.

    I’m using paint shop pro for writing on the images.Its a photo editing tool..you can download a trial version from the internet…
    I had sent u a mail one week back..Didn’t u get it?
    Annita

  7. Sri said

    Wow the pasta color looks so fresh and indeed is a healthy.

    Thanks Sri
    Annita

  8. Praveena said

    Oh nice healthy dish….

    Just for info about cuttlefish..Cuttlefish is not a fish, like the name suggest. It’s Like the squid or the octopus. If you like squid..it’s almost similar in taste.

    Ooh..ok,thanks Praveena…i love squid…so this is on my side too…:))
    Annitaa

  9. Mishmash ! said

    Initially I thought its some dish with green pepper!! :O
    Btw, thanks for visiting my page :)
    Happy V-Day :)

    Shn

    Thanks Shan..And belated V-day to u too..
    Annita

  10. Rg said

    I tried this recipe. My picky eater(my son) didn’t quite enjoy it as he suspected it’s store-bought pesto sauce as soon as he noticed the green color……so even before tasting he started saying “no, green sauce vendaa”….but I Loved it…it’s home-made, healthy and it’s easy to prepare … thanks..I’ll be preparing it again for me for sure….:))

    ayyo..thats sad.my son loves that green color..:).anyway happy to hear that u liked it…
    Annita

  11. sanjana said

    Hello
    Pasta presentation looks out of the world. Very interesting recipe. I guess I cld try the same for my kids too as they really love pastas.
    chk out this pasta recipe with mushroom – my kids love them so much
    http://www.indusladies.com/forums/18167-post57.html

    Thanks Sanjan,will surely check it out.
    Annita

  12. Resources

    resources

  13. N Hall said

    just finished making this sauce, looks and tastes great but seams quite thick. is it suppose to be this way?

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

