My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Karikku(Tender Coconut) Pudding

Posted by Annita on December 30, 2006

Coconuts are something we Keralites are deeply in love with,infact we cannot imagine a life without coconuts in Kerala.Coconut trees plays a major role in a traditional Malayalee’s lifestyle and economy.Even the name Kerala is derived from the word ‘Kera‘ which means coconut tree.Every part of the coconut tree is used in some way or other. Coconuts are used extensively in the delicious Kerala cuisine in different forms.

And what to say about tender coconuts?Fresh Karikku vellam(juice of tender coconuts) along with its flesh is the most delicious and healthy thing i’ve ever tasted in my life.Back home,this is served as a welcome drink for special occasions and celebrations and is considered very royal.

Last week, I’ve found tender coconuts in an International grocery store and couldn’t resist myself from buying it.Again,those were not as sweet as the fresh ones,but no complaints,atleast I got it.And I decided to prepare my all time favorite pudding with those,adding some extra sugar to make it sweeter.

Karikku

So here goes my second entry for JFI-Coconut,from Kerala aka ‘The Land of Coconut trees’.

Karikku pudding

Ingredients:-

China grass/agar agar – 10 gms
Water – 1 cup
Tender coconut water -1 cup
Condensed milk – 1 tin
Milk – 2 tins(I used the same condensed milk tin)
Sugar – 1/2 cup(Use more or less according to your taste) + 2 tsp( for garnishing)
Thin scrapings of tender coconut – 1 cup
Finely grated Coconut – 1/4 cup(optional)
Cashews/Almonds – 1/4 cup(optional)

Karikku

Ingredients
Ingredients needed for the pudding 

Method :-

Soak China grass in 1 cup water and dissolve over low flame.

Melting China Grass
Melting China grass in low flame

Remove from heat and add tender coconut water.Keep it aside.Take another pan, dissolve the sugar in milk and condensed milk over low heat, stirring all the time.When the sugar has completely dissolved, add melted China grass,mix well and remove from heat.Do not boil it.Strain into a flat glass dish.

Mix the tender coconut scrapings into the pudding ,allow it to cool to room temperature and then refrigerate.

Karikku pudding

Decorate with cherries,raisins etc and serve.Here I’ve used coarsly grounded praline and roasted coconut to decorate my pudding.You can prepare praline in advance and store it in an air tight container.Just before serving,roast grated coconut and 2 tsp sugar over low flame.Do not brown it.Sprinkle these over the pudding and serve cold.

Karikku pudding

Recipe Source : Mrs.K.M Mathew

30 Responses to “Karikku(Tender Coconut) Pudding”

  1. sra said

    Nice dessert! I’ve seen/tried even payasam and curry with it – the flavour got lost in the curry, though!

    Haven’t tried payasam with it..sounds good
    Annita

  2. Ashwini said

    This sounds really exotic to me Annita. Thanks and happy new year to you and your family

    Thanks Ashwini
    Annita

  3. Sumitha said

    Annita I just love tender coconut!This pudding is new to me!Goes to my make list right away…..I’ll try it maybe on my next visit home…mmmm…ya Annita I was having this hangover frm my vacation:(miss home.

    Annita wishing you and your family a great new year too.Special wishes to little Milan!

    Thanks for all your wishes,Sumi and same to u..
    Annita

  4. RP said

    I was hoping someone would blog this recipe. I have seen karikku in the stores too, but never bought it. I think now I have to buy to try out this pudding. Any tips on buying a karikku? how do we know if it is good or bad?

    I think getting good karikku is mere luck,Rp.Don’t expect that to be as fresh as our real ones.Even the good ones are not so tasty,but you can prepare pudding with it.But always check if the karikku has some cracks on it..Never buy a karikku which is discolored or has cracks,bcoz a crack can cause the water leakage which in turn spoil the karikku..
    Actually I donno any other tips..
    Annita

  5. Diane said

    I make essentially the same thing – but I learned it as a Thai recipe. The only difference is that is uses coconut milk instead of condensed milk. I will have to try your version! This is one of my favorite summer deserts.

    Best wishes for the new year!

    Thanks for mentioning about this twist,Diane
    Annita

  6. Jo said

    I discovered your blog thru a friend. I have already tried a few of your recipies and they have been appreciated. For someone like me ( staying away from Kerala and in a nuclear family ) your blog is of great help. Are you a hotelier ?

    Thanks !

    Ps : Are you working ? How do you get the time to prepare such elaborate dishes :-)

    No..Jo,I’m a full time house wife..And i’m delighted to hear that you liked my blog..Do visit me often .

    Thanks
    Annita

  7. Rg said

    Annita, this pudding is new to me too. I would like to try it out but what is this china grass? Where do we get it? In which section?

    Thanks.

    You can use agar agar instead of china grass,they are both same and is used as a thickening agent.this is available in all grocery stores..I’m not sure about the section..most probably in the baking..
    Annita

  8. Umm Maryam said

    Hello,

    I tried out your pudding a few days ago and I must say it was good. Thanks for the recipe : )

    Thanks for letting me know about it
    Annita

  9. safia said

    i have been searching for this recpie for some while.
    Finally got it.
    thanks,the info on caramel/paraline was also very much needed.
    thanks once again

    Thanks a lot,Safia…
    Annita

  10. Bindu said

    hello, I followed a link from Mahanadi website and here I am. I had eaten this dessert at the Bolgatty Palace Hotel in Ernakulam when I was little and I still have the memory of its taste Thank you for the recipe. This one is on the top of my to try list!

    Thanks Bindu..Pls let me know the outcome once you try it..
    Annita

  11. petite said

    Now, on that she had lovely, its hood. Any form whatsoever, just blurted something petite tities you.

  12. neelima said

    can you tell me how to scrape the tender coconut?it looks yummy.will definitely try it out.

    You can just use a spoon and scrape all the flesh from the shell..
    Annita

  13. bocuwux said

    tyra banks nose job As if i looked at kristen came up.

  14. Martha turned into contact with my hands, dial femme chaude our hearts beating together in a big smile.

  15. wesowkyn said

    video maman chaude

  16. latex said

    latex gallery

  17. vobabu said

    college call girl

  18. gang bang story

  19. ymnomorgav said

    hot milfs with big tits

  20. ixzypsibna said

    girl with camel toe

  21. afahqy said

    adult flintstones cartoons

  22. Finally a tried and tested recipe for my favoritest pudding! yummmmmmmy!

  23. pokemon said

    pokemon hentai movies

  24. milf ass

  25. soniya raj said

    Hey Annita, thanx for the great recipe. I prepared it and it was a super duper hit.Now its become my duty to prepare karikku puddings at family get togethers!

  26. kendra said

    kendra wilkinson nude pictorial

  27. Divs said

    Hi Annitta,

    I have been a regular visitor and last weekend I tried your recipe and it was an instant hit….The only variation was instead of China Grass, I used Gelatin – 1 3/4 tbsp…

  28. radhika said

    do i need to strain the mixture with a strainer. the taste was awesome, but the texture was more like the constitency of curd .
    when i scooped it was breaking up .please help

  29. divya said

    Hi…you have not mentioned how long we need to refrigerate…i am starter here…no idea abt these things…

  30. Nita said

    Annita,
    I tried your recipe and it was delicious. Thanx for the recipe
    It had a curd consistency. Is it like that or can it be cut into shapes?
    Can I use gelatin instead of china grass ? If so how much?

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

