My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Zucchini Thoran

Posted by Annita on November 9, 2006

Zucchini or courgette is one vegetable which i’ve started using very recently.I used to back out from buying this vegetable,I was under a wrong impression,that this is kind of watery and tastes bland.And now as per my resolution,to try out new veggies I bought zucchini and i fell for it.I feel really bad for neglecting such a lovely vegetable.Whatever I prepared with it turned out to be good.

Thoran with Zucchini
Zucchini Thoran

And here goes my new favorite recipe..

Ingredients:-

Zucchini cut into small dices – 1
Chopped Onion – 1 small
Chopped Green chillies – 4
Chopped Garlic – 1 tsp
Grated coconut – 1/2 cup
Turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp
Mustard Seeds – 1 tsp
Cumin Seeds – 1/2 tsp
Curry leaves – a few
Salt – to taste
Oil – as needed

Method:-

Heat oil in a pan and allow mustard seeds and jeera seeds to splutter.Add onion and curry leaves and saute until onion turn translucent.Mix in garlic,green chillies ,salt and turmeric powder and saute for a while.Now add diced zucchini,cover and cook for 5 minutes,stirring occasionally.Mix in grated coconut ,simmer for 3-4 minutes and turn off the heat.Thoran is ready to be served with rice.

15 Responses to “Zucchini Thoran”

  1. Archana said

    Ha Ha Ha… Zucchini fever !!! Hop over to my blog and see what i mean. Thank you for the recipe Annita.

    Yeah Archana..Seeing ur post,my love for zucchini has doubled..
    Annita

  2. Vimala said

    Hi Anita,
    What is Zucchini???? Me from Tamil Nadu married to a Malu. Is it a vegetable that u get in the west??? or does is it have any local name.

    Yeah..this is something i’ve seen here in U.S..I don’t think this is available in India…
    Annita

    • poojagarwal said

      Zucchini is available in bangalore, you get in allmost all the hypermarkets like spar or food world or any such out lets

  3. Trupti said

    How creative! I should try this…we get so much Zucchini here…
    Thanks for the recipe!
    Trupti

    Thanks Trupti.
    Annita

  4. Susan said

    Hi anita,
    This is new thanks. whatelse did u prepare with that

    I’ve preapred some side dishes for Chappathi and also a Zucchini rice.I’ll be posting the recipes soon.
    Thanks for dropping by,Susan
    Annita

  5. RP said

    Aha! You and archana are having a zucchini fest?
    Since zucchini gets all mushy when cooked, I thought it is not good for thoran. Will try your recipe. Do you add zucchini in sambar?

    Yeah..RP..As Archana says,Zucchini fever’s going on..I’ve found some more Zucchini posts recently…
    I haven’t tried it with Sambar,but will definitely be trying out soon..And Nabeela already posted about Zucchini in Sambar
    Annita

  6. nithin said

    Since zucchini gets all mushy when cooked, I thought it is not good for thoran. Will try your recipe. Do you add zucchini in sambar?http://www.alieneliminator.wordpress.com

  7. Shiny George said

    Try to add boiled dhal(any lnetil)with this thoran .You could add more taste to it and it is very healthy also.

    Thanks for the tip,Shiny.Will try it in your way next time.
    Annita

  8. Zucchini is one vegetable I avoid too!Now that you have made a delicious looking thoran and Archana a curry, I am going to get some Zucchini soon.

    Still I don’t know what makes me think that its not good..Now adays I’ve been seeing too many Zucchini related posts
    Annita

  9. Rashmi said

    do u peel the zucchini before cutting it???

    No Rashmi,I don’t do any peeling..And how r u doing?

    Annita

  10. Rg said

    I like Zucchini. I add it in my pasta dishes and in Aviyal too. Haven’t tried thoran though. Will try this out for sure. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us.

    Hello Rg,Evide aayirunnu..kure naalayello kandittu…
    Annita

  11. Rach said

    I make Zucchini fry.All you need is to cut into roundlets, add some crushed garlic,chilli flakes,salt & turmeric for colour & shallow fry it in little oil on low flame.Tastes good.
    Will try your thoran too.

    Will be trying it out real soon,Rach..thanks for the recipe

    Annita

  12. cat medicine veterinary

    –>cat medicine veterinary

  13. suja said

    hi,
    i tried this with zucchini squash..is this the same zucchini that u tried with?
    mine didnt come tasty…
    again, in this dish you are using only one zucchini…one zucchini is very small right???

    Yes Suja…i’ve tried with zucchini squash only…but we loved it…
    I think one zucchini with lots of coconut is enough for a meal..:))
    Annita

  14. Sheeba said

    Hi,
    The zucchini thoran was excellent. Reminded me somewhat of Kovakya thoran….
    Regards
    sheeba

    I’m also a great fan of zucchini thoran..:))
    Annita

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

