My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Cherries

Posted by Annita on July 25, 2006

I am very much fond of these processed cherries,which i’ve brought from Kerala .Those bright red colored cherries are indeed a treat to your eyes as well as your taste buds,they are sweet,juicy and very delicious.But I am not sure if this is available in U.S,I haven’t seen it anywhere not even in Indian grocery stores.If anyone knows,pls help me with it.


Processed Cherries

In Kerala,these are mostly used for decorating cakes and puddings.But I love to have it just like that.Here goes a quick fruit snack with cherries,and its definitely a party pleaser too.

Ingredients:-


Pineapple ,Cherries and Cheese Slices

Diced pineapple – 20 pieces
Cheese slices(preferrably American) cut into small 1/2 inch squares- 5 slices
Cherries – 20
Jalapenos /Green Chillies sliced thin – 2(Optional)

Method:-

Skewer it up with a pineapple dice,2 layer of cheese slices(You can add more cheese slices ,if you wish),a thin slice of jalapeno and a cherry.


A simple fruit snack

(P.S I didn’t use jalapenos/green chillies here as I prepared this for lil’ Milan)

14 Responses to “Cherries”

  1. vineela said

    Hi Annita,
    Yummy fruit string.
    Vineela

    Thanks Vineela.

    Annita

  2. shaheen said

    annita
    all i have found here is the marachino cherries.i just wash them and eat them.also, have seen dried versions of cherries in the snack section.

    Thanks Shaheen.Have u tried this dried versions?Does it taste something like our cherries?

    Annita

  3. Archana said

    Hi Annita,
    I brought some after my last vaccation. Now they sell it in 3-4 different colors back home. The closest cherry in the US market is Maraschino, but i can’t stand the chemical taste of that canning syrup. Thank you for posting this.

    Thanks for the info Archana.I’ve also tried that one with a chemical taste..oooh..horrible…And i didn’t see them in any other colors.Next time have to search for that..

    Annita

  4. Puspha said

    Very yummy looking treat.

    I’ve never seen dried cherries in Switzerland or in Malaysia. Only glazed type is available.

    I know Pushpa,I remember once u’ve asked me about this cherries..I really thought about u,while posting this..:))

     Annita

  5. Ashwini said

    I used to eat them too. I got them for cakes and then started popping them before baking :-) Milan must be happy

    Yeah..it is soo delicious,rt?But mine has now become dry after sitting in fridge for long..

    Annita

  6. Sree said

    This is the faveourite starter for all our get togethers, but i always prefer the thick chunks of cheese rather than the slices.

    Checked out ur plum cake recipe, going to try it out for sure! it looks yummy.

    Sree

    Yeah thats indeed a good idea sree..Will try that next time.

    Annita

  7. meena said

    Hi Annita,
    Even I brought these cherries from India when i visited 3 months back. you won’t beleive, i bought 15 packets…:)
    i just love them so much.

    but let me give you the truth about these so called cherries…
    Actually these are not cherries. They are called vaakkai (In Telugu).i don’t know what the english name for it is.
    we even do dal with this just like how we do tomato dal.
    it’s original taste is little sour and also the colour is light. But they soak in red colour sugar syrup which turns out like the above picture you have it.

    Me too loves it very much,Meena.And I think i’ve seen that plant ,its there in my amma’s place..But we don’t prepare anything with it..Sometimes we used to have it just like that..It has some white starchy substance inside it,rt?And sour to taste..i am not sure whether i’m talking about the same plant.

    And many thanks for dropping by.

    Annita

    • vishnu said

      i do have a cherry or vaakkai or whatever it is known as to u people . it is the same as u mentioned like it has got some white starchy thing in it . during the season the plant fruits a lot but we dont use any of it since we dont know how to process the tender cherries to sweet ones .. if anyone knows how to process them pls mail me the process ,i will be thankful to whomever it is . my mail id is vishnu87k@gmail.com .

  8. looks yummy… are the cherries glazed in sugar syrup Annita, looks l’il dry though, looks like Milan is enjoying his treat! Good one!

    Yeah..karthi.it was glazed in sugar syrup,but it seems dry now..may be after a long journey from india to u.s and also the poor thing has been in my refrigerator for past 2 months,kna?

    Annita

  9. Surya said

    Hi Annita,
    Your combo is so good.pineapple,cherries,cheese…I have no cherries on my hand and I am planning to bring some during my next trip to home.

    Thanks Surya.I loved it very much when i was a kid.

    Annita

  10. giniann said

    I had almost forgotten about those. I remember my mom getting me those cherries from the bakeries. They used to be in those glass containers, right?

    Yeah..its the same…Gini..
    Annita

  11. vishnu said

    i do have a cherry or vaakkai or whatever it is known as to u people . it is the same as u mentioned like it has got some white starchy thing in it . during the season the plant fruits a lot but we dont use any of it since we dont know how to process the tender cherries to sweet ones .. if anyone knows how to process them pls mail me the process ,i will be thankful to whomever it is . my mail id is vishnu87k@gmail.com .

  12. Ellie said

    I am regular visitor, hοω are you everybody?
    Thhis paragraph posted at this webite is genuinely nice.

  13. Maximilian said

    Tɦank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusemen accounnt it.
    Lօok advanced to far added agreeable from ƴou! However,
    how could we communicate?

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

