My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Vegetable Puffs

Posted by Annita on March 13, 2006

Finally I got a better crust for puffs.Yesterday I made Vegetable Puffs using Pepperidge Farm Ready to roll sheets.I got it from the frozen section(Pie crust) of Walmart Super Center.I’ve posted a Chicken Puffs recipe before,in which I’ve used Phyllo sheets.Now I guess Phyllo sheets are not a good choice for puffs.And this is how i made the filling for my veg puffs …
Ingredients:-
Boiled Potatoes -3
Chopped Onion-1
Chopped Green Chillies -3
Green Peas – 1/2 cup
Ginger-Garlic paste -1/2 tsp
Turmeric Powder -a pinch
Red chilly powder -1/2 tsp.
Garam masala -1 tsp
Coriander leaves chopped – 1 tbsp
Jeera seeds – 1/2 tsp
Lemon juice – 1 tsp
Salt – to taste
Oil – as needed
Method:-
Mash potatoes lightly with hand and keep aside.Heat oil in pan and allow jeera seeds to splutter.Add onion ,ginger-garlic paste,green chillies and salt and saute for a while.Add all the masala powders and again saute for a few minutes.Add mashed potatoes and green peas and mix well.Simmer for few more minutes .Switch off the burner and add coriander leaves and lemon juice.Mix well and keep aside.And now the filling is ready to use.Now just put the filling in the pastry sheets after cutting it to any desired shape.The pastry sheets should be rolled thin before cutting…you can roll it just like chappathi.After the filling is done fold it over and stick the ends together using water or beaten egg white.
Bake it in a preheated 400F oven for 15- 20 mts or until brown.

See another recipe of Veg Puffs in Ammani’s ChaiPani and of Egg Puffs in Shammi’s Food,In The Main.

Posted by Annita

30 Responses to “Vegetable Puffs”

  1. giniann said

    I have always used those Pepperidge pastry sheets and they work out perfect.

    At first I made a mistake of trying it with Phyllo sheets…:))

    Annita 

  2. [...] Recently i bought puffed pastry sheets for the first time and made vegetable puffs using Anita's recipe and it turned out just like the store bought ones. I had one sheet left and wanted to try spinach pockets that i had seen in food network TV , but they used few ingredients that i dint have in my pantry. I was checking for some recipe using puffed pastry sheets and i found Emerils recipe. The recipe was very simple but again i dint have few ingredients . I added peanuts for a extra crunch so had to do it with what i had . The results were awesome !! here's the recipe … [...]

  3. Jyothsna said

    I’ve been waiting for a good veg puff recipe. This seems good, will give it a try. Jyothsna.

  4. karish said

    wow it was splendid……thanks

    Thanks Karish
    Annita

  5. Pooja said

    Hi,
    I want to try this recipee but can anybody tell me where i can get Pestry Sheet in chicago?

  6. Bindu said

    Hi Annita!
    Hope you and uyour family are doing well. I learnt this recipe of making puffs with Pepperidge farms pastry sheets soon after coming to California 6 years back:)And since then it has been one of my family favourites. But I will definitely try your recipe for filling. I used to love the veg puffs we get in bakeries in Kerala. They taste different from the ones I used to have growing up in Delhi:) I hope these are the south indian way of making them: will def try. thanks dear.

  7. Bindu said

    Pooja,you can get these pastry sheets in any grocery store frozen section. look for Pepperidge Farms Pastry Sheets. do you have safeway and Albertsons there? they defenitely have them.

  8. Pooja said

    first of all thanks!!!!!!!!!
    i’m in chicago. just came here. here near by wall mart. so i think i can get it from there.
    what says. infact some grocery shops are here. I’ll search there!!!!!!!!! :)

    • karthika said

      hey you will get the pepperridge farm pastry sheets in Hen House for sure, i always buy from there.
      :)
      karthika

  9. Yogita said

    Hey Pooja,

    u get pastry puf at Dominicks store in Chicago. Look in froozen section.

  10. Dhanya Hari said

    thank you so much for sharing this recipe….

  11. suja said

    Hi,,,
    I made it deepa..Gr8!!!
    Cheers!!

    Thanks Suja..BTW my name is Annita..its not deepa..:))
    Annita

  12. Anjali said

    Tried it…Gr8..came out very good. BTW how many puffs can u make with a single sheet.Also how much should u roll the sheet?i mean should u make the sheet really thin..or just a roll t flatten a bit will do.

    Thanks for the recipe.

  13. Vineetha said

    I tried this & it came out superb!! My hubby loved it!
    We will be trying them on guests soon:)

  14. Girija said

    ഞാനും ഈ ബ്ലോഗിന്റെ സ്ഥിരം സന്ദര്‍ശകയാണ്‌

    എനിക്ക്‌ ഈ ബ്ലോഗ്‌ വളരെ ഇഷ്ടപ്പെട്ടതാണ്‌. വളരെയധികം രുചിയുള്ള പാചകക്കുറിപ്പുകല്‍ ഇവിടെയുണ്ട്‌.

    ഞങ്ങള്‍ ഈയിടെ ഒരു “മലയാളം പാചകക്കുറിപ്പുകളുടെ” ഒരു വെബ്‌ സൈറ്റ്‌ തുടങ്ങി.

    സൗകര്യം പോലെ അവിടം സന്ദര്‍ശിക്കുക.

    ഞങ്ങളുടെ വിലാസം
    http://www.recipeskerala.com

    നിങ്ങള്‍ക്കിഷ്ടപ്പെട്ട വിഭവങ്ങളുമായി ഞങ്ങള്‍ അവിടെ കാത്തിരിക്കുന്നുണ്ട്‌

    വരുമല്ലോ ??…. ഞങ്ങള്‍ കാത്തിരിക്കും

  15. Sangeetha said

    Annita,
    Thanks for this wonderful recipe – this is the first time I have used puff pastry sheets – so had no clue what to except. But still it turned out good. Even my 4 yr old who hates spicy food ate one! For those who have questions as to how much you need to roll the sheet, I guess you can roll it out to about 1 1/2 of its original size .

    I’m looking for a good vegetable biryani recipe – if you have one or have a link please do post it here.

    Thanks once again.
    Sangeetha

  16. Vandana said

    Hi
    I have been reading your blog for sometime now.. i wanted to try veg puffs that u have given out here.. I am in the US and can u tell me where can i find puff pastry sheets..

    You can find it in the frozen food section near pie crust & all ,in any of your local grocery stores..I got it from Walmart only..
    Annita

  17. Vandana said

    Thanks for the reply.

    You’re very welcome Vandana
    Annita

  18. Priya said

    Hey hi,
    I tried this recipe with pepperridge pastry…It was awesome!…thanks a lot:)))

    Thank you for letting me know abt it,Priya
    Annita

  19. Rajeshri said

    Hi Anita
    I am from Canada, could u help me please? where i can find this puff sheets, i mean(store).
    I am waiting for your reply.
    thank you

  20. ananth said

    You can find the pepperidge pastry sheets in most local grocery stores; Kroger, Meijer, Walmart. If not, try their website and have it delivered in bulk; trust me, you won’t be disappointed :)

  21. Gayathri said

    Hi,
    Thanks for the recipe.. It looks and sounds really good. I am in Chicago and got the ‘pastry sheets’. I just wanted to chk with u if what i got was the right thing. The pastry sheets that i got are tissue thin.. with several rolled into one package. How do i now use this? do i butter sheet by sheet/ do i roll it? or have i bought the wrong ones? i would love to make these but am confused as to how to go about it.. i would really appreciate ur help.. thanks

    Gayatri,I think you’ve bought the wrong sheets…Did you buy Athens Fillo easy to use pastry sheets…?
    That comes in layers..i made puffs with that at first..check my chicken puffs

    Then i found pepperidge farm puff pastry sheets…thats better than the other thing…this doesn’t come in layers…its just a thick sheet of dough…you can make good puffs with pepperidge farm pastry sheets..it is available in all the local grocery stores .Hope this helps

    Annita

  22. Thank you! I have been craving these since returning from India six months ago. This is a great recipe! Very authentic!

  23. reviews said

    YES,VERY GOOD WEBSITE!

  24. ayesha said

    hye,
    i live in oklahoma…can any one teell me where to buy puff pastry sheets..there is no albertson store..here is walmart and target…

    u can get pastry sheets in walmart and target too..
    Annita

  25. Priya said

    Hi Annita! I made these for a potluck yesterday and everyone loved these puffs! I almost got the phyllo sheets by accident (since they were on sale) but I’m so glad I stuck to the Pepperidge Farm puff pastry sheets. Thank you SO much for this wonderful blog! This is the first place I come to when I need a recipe. ;)

  26. Ameya said

    Hi! from where i can get that sheets?
    nagpur. Plz reply fast

  27. deep said

    Hi all,
    I am from Bangalore. Anyone has any idea if we get these sheets in Bangalore?

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

