My Treasure…My Pleasure

Authentic Kerala Cuisine & much more…

Vazhuthananga Mezhukkupuratti(Brinjal Fry)

Posted by Annita on March 3, 2006

I wasn’t aware of the mouth watering taste of Vazhuthananga(Brinjal) before marriage.This was the vegetable we hated most in our home.However i tried cooking this vegetable just for Deepu and it was according to his recipe.Of course i’ve added something from my side too…
Now i love brinjal in every forms whether it be stuffed,roasted,fried,bhartha…even i add this in sambar and avial as well.Brinjal Mezhukkupuratti is something which i am very crazy about.The recipe is quite simple,but it gives a remarkable taste.I simply adore the flavour when brinjal,onion,chillies and oil combined together.This dish will almost melt in our mouth.
Goes well with chappathi,rice..even you can have it just like that.Ingredients:-
Eggplant cut into bite sized pieces -1
Onion chopped -1
Chopped garlic -1 tsp
Red chillies -4 or 5
Turmeric Powder – 1/4 tsp
Curry Leaves -a few
Salt – to taste
Oil – as needed

Method:-
Heat oil in a pan and add onions,chillies and curry leaves into it.Saute for few minutes and add garlic,turmeric powder and salt.Stir well till the raw smell of onion and turmeric goes off.Finally add the eggplant pieces and saute well.

Simmer for around half an hour stirring continuously.Switch off the heat when its well done.

Vazhuthanenga Mezhukkupuratti

Posted by Annita

 
25 Responses to “Vazhuthananga Mezhukkupuratti(Brinjal Fry)”

  1. Mary said

    Hello Annita,

    I tried out your recipe and it tasted awesome !

    I never used to like brinjal earlier , but not anymore :-)

    Hope to see more of your recipes soon !

    Thanks alot !

    -Mary

    Hi Mary,

    Good to hear that you liked my recipe..:))Hope Leon liked it too..

    Annita 

  2. Saritha said

    I tried it. Really it was delicious and thanks for such a good,ease and tasty recipe. My hubby who never ate any brinjal dishes,. now is a fan of this fry….thanks a lot….wish to see more from you.

    I too started to love eggplant with this dish only,Thanks Saritha
    Annita

  3. lakshmy said

    Thanks …This was wonderful…

    Thank u
    Annita

  4. [...] Keralites like Bee and Mallugirl call it upperi, the southern Keralites like these gorgeous gals call it [...]

  5. Swati Nair said

    Hi Annita,

    Looks so good…. I love brinjal like right now.. I have a quick question.. I have seen 2 types of brinjals in desi/mexican store
    1.The big one used for Bengal Bhartha
    2.Small purple ones i think i have seen them in kerala as well, used in sambhar.

    Which of these two have you used??

    Thanks

    Swati Nair

    You can use any of them..But here i’ve used the big eggplants bcoz thats easily available to me…
    Annita

  6. bendi said

    awesome………….thanks for the recepie………..whenever I cook brinjal……………i make sure i c ur recepie and do it……thats the impression this recepie left me with……….

  7. Deepa said

    Hi Annita,
    I tried out this recipe, it tasted very good but I had to add water as the brinjal was sticking to the pan tho’ the flame was at simmer.

    Any tips for me?

    Thanks,
    Deepa

  8. Reena said

    Hi Annita,

    I tried out this receipe and it turned out to be awesome. We just moved to the US from Canada and our things are still on the way. I was browsing your website to cook something without the use of mixer & found this receipe.

    Thanks and your collection of receipes are “Thani Nadan”. I personally enjoy your receipes.Keep up the good work.

    Reena.

    Thank you Reena and welcome to my blog
    Annita

  9. Fiji Sudheer said

    Hi Annita,

    good recipe..started loving brinjal..i tried out this recipe with a modification,covered it for some time in simmer mode.it cut short the time required.also it became less sticky.

    thanks for the recipe

    fiji.

  10. Tom said

    Hi,
    Awsome one………. easy to cook……….. Even the photo makes my mouth watering……… and added the comments……… going to try it
    thanks,
    tom.

  11. SUJA JOY said

    hi annita,thanx a lot for all d recipes.i have trouble reading the part of recipes on the right hand side.is there anyway i can see the whole recipe without losing even a single word?

  12. soumya said

    Hi,
    Looks Delicious! gonna try today. Hope my family loves it!

  13. gijesh said

    hi anu,

    u r dish is awsome….

    thnks.gijesh.

  14. rani said

    hi annita,
    i have tried most of ur recipes and all have come out well.thank u so much.

  15. Santosh said

    Hi Annita,

    Thanks for the recipe. It was really awesome. The important thing is that, it is done with limited ingredients…

    Thanks
    Santosh

  16. baby diaper cake instructions…

    [...]Vazhuthananga Mezhukkupuratti(Brinjal Fry) « My Treasure…My Pleasure[...]…

  17. Dialogo TV webtv milano…

    [...]Vazhuthananga Mezhukkupuratti(Brinjal Fry) « My Treasure…My Pleasure[...]…

  18. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger
    but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for beginner blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  19. Your style is so unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this page.

  20. Superb, what a weblog it is! This weblog provides useful information to us,
    keep it up.

  21. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my site so i came to “return the favor”.
    I am attempting to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok
    to use some of your ideas!!

  22. These are genuinely impressive ideas in regarding blogging.
    You have touched some fastidious things here.

    Any way keep up wrinting.

  23. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.

    The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get bought an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following.
    unwell unquestionably come more formerly again as exactly
    the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

  24. Tina said

    I would like to subscribe to this blog and receive recipes once u post.what should i do

  25. Why visitors still make use of to read news papers when in this technological world all is accessible on web?

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

